Huge program again for WRT on Blancpain GT

The Team WRT is the main force in favor of Audi in the Blancpain GT Series grid, being part of it since the start of the championship in 2011, and being competitive since then. Recently the Belgian team started to tackle the Sprint and Endurance Cups with multiple entries aligned, and things won't change this year, with more stars filling the seats.

The heaviest loss for the team was the almost unstoppable move of Laurens Vanthoor from Audi to Porsche, who was WRT's main card, but the also sad ending of the LMP1 program gave some free schedule for the top drivers of the Ingolstadt manufacturer, and some moves here and there also brought new guys from different fronts, like Audi's own ladder system or the various single seater championships in Europe.

For the Blancpain GT Sprint Cup, WRT will feature five Audi R8 LMS models, in the following order:

-The No. 1 car coming with Sprint Cup champion Enzo Ide alongside 2016 team mate Christopher Mies in the title defence;

-The No. 3 car has only youn guns, as Pieter Schothorst comes from the folded Renault Sport Trophy and Jake Dennis moves from GP3 into full time sportscar racing;

-The No. 5 has Laurens' brother Dries Vanthoor being partnered with FIA WEC champion and 24 Hours of Le Mans multiple winner Marcel Fässler;

-The No. 6 car sees former F1 driver Will Stevens being paired with Markus Winkelhock after his stint with Phoenix Racing;

-The No. 17 car will feature Robin Frijns with his third different partner in less than a year in the name of Stuart Leonard.

The trios for the Blancpain GT Endurance Cup will be like this:

-The No. 3 car will see Niki Mayr-Melnhof come from Phoenix Racing to be partnered by all-round expert Jonathan Venter and Audi TT Cup driver Josh Caygill;

-The No. 5 car will feature former LMP1 driver Marcel Fässler alongside ex-F1 Will Stevens and Audi young gun Dries Vanthoor;

-Car No. 6 will have former Fässler's team mate Benoit Tréluyer partnered with former single seater specialists Nathanaël Berthon and Stephane Richelmi;

-In the No. 17 car the Frijns-Leonard combo gets the addition of single seater young gun Jake Dennis.

WRT is looking forward to defend both Sprint Cup crowns for drivers and teams.