WRT and HTP are crowned as Blancpain GT champions

HTP Motorsport was a contender for the Sprint Cup and Blancpain GT trophies this weekend at Barcelona, but the No. 84 Mercedes was in different situations in the two drivers’ standings, chasing WRT in one and trying to hold Garage 59 in the other. While one battle was lost to the WRT side, the other still brought trophies to the Mercedes team as AKKA-ASP were dominant in the Main Race.

To lift the Sprint Cup trophy Enzo Ide just had to be in front of Maximilian Buhk and Dominik Baumann, and to avoid throwing the title possibility away he let the No. 88 AKKA-ASP Mercedes overtake and lead in the first corner, and this was the opportunity that Maxime Soulet saw to put the No. 8 M-Sport Bentley in second place.

In a bid to at least go for the overall championship, Dominik Baumann was pushing as hard as he could, even being somewhat forceful in certain moves, but with the No. 33 WRT Audi in third, the No. 84 HTP Mercedes in seventh and the No. 58 Garage 59 McLaren in 15th, everything would be settled without anything much to do.

Even the pit window was a factor to change the outcome of the race, with the contenders coming back in the same positions. Alvaro Parente was able to gain positions for the No. 58 Garage 59 McLaren, but didn’t go past 13th, while Maximilian Buhk paid for being impatient behind the No. 5 Phoenix Audi, driven by Alessio Picariello, going off the track but managing to lose only a single position.

While the No. 88 AKKA-ASP Mercedes disappeared in the lead, the No. 8 Bentley and the No. 33 Audi kept a tight battle for second without many risky moves until the last lap, when Andy Soucek almost sent Robin Frijns to the wall, then keeping their places and completing the podium. The 8th place finish made Dominik Baumann lose the Sprint Cup titles, but was also enough to achieve the overall Blancpain GT Series trophy as Rob Bell and Alvaro Parente finished in the same 13th place. The No. 5 Phoenix Audi was the Silver Cup winner, with the No. 333 Rinaldi Ferrari and the No. 55 AF Corse Ferrari being the Pro-Am and Am Cup winners.

Enzo Ide was crowned Blancpain GT Sprint champion with 102 points against 79 from Christopher Mies and 67 from Dominik Baumann and Maximilian Buhk, with WRT winning the teams title with 104 points. Baumann and Buhk still have celebrations to do as they clinched the overall Blancpain GT title with 134 points against 124 from Rob Bell, with HTP Motorsport lifting the overall teams’ trophy with 167 points against 160 from the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT.

Michele Beretta and Luca Stolz got the Silver Cup title for Grässer Racing and Lamborghini, while Michal Broniszewski became the Blancpain GT Sprint Pro-Am champion and Claudio Sdanewitsch was the Am Cup champion. Like between the drivers, Kessel Racing and AF Corse were the Pro-Am and Am Cup winning teams. Both teams were also Blancpain GT Series champions in their respective classes.

PHOTOS: Blancpain GT Series