After London it's goodbye to Team Aguri

The London ePrix Will be the final point for one of the current in Formula E, more specifically Team Aguri, as the team finalized talks and agreed to sell their entry in the electric open wheel championship. Team Aguri is one of the two teams that opted to not be or to not nominate a manufacturer, staying with the original Spark SRT01_E kit from the 2013-2014 season.

The Anglo-Japanese outfit was one of the ten ones that started along with the championship in 2013, and in these two seasons of competition, the moment that can be highlighted from them is the hugely celebrated win at the Buenos Aires ePrix for the Portuguese ace Antônio Félix da Costa, who is the benchmark of the team during these two seasons, as most of Team Aguri’s points were acquired due to him, being generally in the middle of the points zone.

Counting da Costa, eight drivers sit in the cockpit of the team during the time, as Takuma Sato, Sakon Yamamoto and René Rast filled in for him, while the other car had driver changes due to specific reasons. The current season for the Portuguese driver was plagued with retirements which prevented him to go further than his current 13th place, mostly due to the progress of the other machines in comparison to the standard package. Former Citroën WTCC driver Ma Qing Hua is the driver of the other car, and failed to achive points in his two ePrix of experience.

When negotiations started for the entry takeover, Aguri Suzuki opted to step down of the ownership, leaving Mark Preston alongside Marc Faggionato in the position. In the statement released by Team Aguri, both Preston and Faggionato hailed the team’s time in Formula E and thanked all people involved with the team until the moment.

PHOTO: Team Aguri