WRT doesn’t measure car numbers for Blancpain GT success

The 2016 season seems to be one of the most promising for WRT, as they step with good support into the national and international TCR class scenario without forgetting GT racing, and the current champions of the Sepang 12 Hours and of the Dubai 24 Hours comes with a very nice fleet to defend their Blancpain GT Series title.

Last year, Belgian Audi Club WRT brought a maximum of four machines to action in the SRO sanctioned events, and now with a complete move to the brand new Audi R8 LMS they will bring a maximum of five cars, with only one of them being out of the Endurance Series races.

The Blancpain Sprint lineups will see Laurens Vanthoor and Robin Frijns, who practically led the team last year, being separated this season. Laurens will form a Belgian duo alongside Frederic Vervisch, who comes from ISR, another Audi customer team. Frijns in fact still has a Vanthoor as his partner, but he will be Dries, younger brother of Laurens, who debuts in GT racing after spending his first year after karting in the Formula Renault 2.0.

Sergio Jimenez moves from BMW Team Brasil to partner up with Rodrigo Baptista and Dubai winners Stuart Leonard and Michael Meadows leave Aston Martin to go with Audi from now on. These duos are single country ones too, respectively from Brazil and United Kingdom. Christopher Mies and Enzo Ide are the only pair that remains the same from 2015.

In the Endurance Series, the Vanthoor Bros will stay with Vervisch, while Frijns reinforces the British pair as their third driver. The Brazilian lineup receives the help of the Portuguese Audi factory driver Filipe Albuquerque, while the fourth car will receive a endurance-specific lineup, with Dutch star Peter Kox, German ace Pierre Kaffer and Adrien de Leener, coming from a spell in AF Corse in the Endurance Series last year.

René Rast and Nico Müller are also expected to join WRT at the 24 Hours of Spa.

PHOTO: Audi Sport