Eurasia's youngsters win again while Race Performance gets the Asian LMS title

The first was somewhat a surprise, but the second win for the Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia duo composed by Antonio Giovinazzi and Sean Gelael proved the extension of their talent, even though this is the second competitive LMP2 entry for them, the 3 Hours of Malaysia, final round of the 2015/2016 season of the Asian Le Mans Series.

While it was Algarve Pro Racing that took pole position at Sepang, the guest Eurasia Motorsport entry again took the upper hand, and as the main car of the Filipino team, the No. 99 one, retired early in the race, all the attention has gone to them, as they led from lap 24 to the finish line.

Race Performance led some laps in the early stages of the race, but unable to keep pace on par with No. 9 Eurasia ORECA and with the No. 99 Eurasia ORECA without any chances of stealing the class title of them, they settled for second place. Polesitters from Algarve Pro Racing had the quickest driver in the field in the person of James Winslow, but with Michael Munemann and Dean Koutsoumidis unable to match Winslow's pace, the Portuguese outfit finished in third place, two laps behind the winners.

The LMP3 class was another DC Racing show, as they raced practically alone, even though they needed some emergency parts for their Ligier JS P3 that came moments before the race start. On the other hand, all the problems that the Team AAI ADESS 03 had appeared during the race, making them finish 30 laps behind the class winners.

The CN class had another race on its own, as the Avelon Formula Wolf GB08 was the single entrant of the class on track, with the duo composed by Denis Lian and Giorgio Maggi finishing 14th overall.

Last year Audi did quite the show with the new R8 LMS doing a full podium sweep at the Sepang 12 Hours, and a month later the same model won again at the Malaysian track with Absolute Racing. Christopher Mies, runner-up finisher last year, partnered with Alessio Picariello and Jeffrey Lee to leave the No. 91 Team AAI BMW Z4 behind by a lap. Completing the podium appeared a somewhat unfortunate Cleawater Racing as a late race puncture turned impossible to aim higher than a third place. Luckilly enough, their class title contenders, Nexus Infinity, didn't make the miracle seen at Buriram and finished fourth.

In the first time that the GT-Am class had more than a single entry on track, KCMG prevailed supreme against the Team Starspeed Racing squad, with more than a lap and a half separating the two teams.

About the class titles to be defined, the LMP2 title went to Race Performance, which is their first in any ACO-sanctioned competition since their entry in the Le Mans Series, as well for Niki Leutwiler, which granted the Swiss squad a spot in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Clearwater Racing with Keita Sawa, Mok Weng Sun and Rob Bell took the GT class crown from the Team AAI and will be the series entry in the LMGTE-Am class in France. Completing the champions list, Avelon Formula conquered the CN class title.

The 3 Hours of Malaysia highlights video and the Minamoto Graphics season review of the Asian LMS will appear here in the coming days.

PHOTOS: ORECA, Race Performance, Audi Sport