20 cars to end the Asian LMS season at Sepang

By the looks of the provisional entry list for the 3 Hours of Malaysia, the 2015/2016 Asian Le Mans Series season finale, we can be pleased to announce that will be the largest grid of the season, as 20 cars are expected to challenge the Sepang Circuit and the Malaysian heat.

Not all 17 entries that were present at Buriram will be in the last race of the season, but some interesting additions were made in the GT classes.

The LMP2 class continues with the same four entries from Thailand, without any changes in the lineups. The Eurasia Motorsport situation will be interesting to see, as they can pull another trick with the KFC-backed No. 9 car ir can work on their team play to help the No. 99 car to get the title from the hands of the Race Performance squad.

The LMP3 class will be down to two entries, as DC Racing and Team AAI bring one machine each. With the short time between the third and fourth rounds, the Taiwanese team probably focused on patching up only one of the ADESS 03 models to have at least a car ready, seeing that both cars were hit by huge problems at Buriram.

The CN class comes with two entries too, as Avelon Formula and Atlantic Racing Team bring a Wolf GB08 each and don't have any changes in the lineup. The class title fight is pretty open here, with five points separating the two squads.

Then comes the always crowded GT class, which jumps from seven to ten cars in the grid, with notable additions from Team AAI and Bentley Team Absolute. Team AAI revives their McLaren MP4-12C, which was their machine in the first Asian LMS season, but the two driver lineup isn't confirmed at the moment. Team AAI also brings a second BMW Z4 GT3 in replacement to their Mercedes SLS AMG.

From the Bentley Team Absolute side, this is an Absolute Racing operation dedicated to the British manufacturer, which brings a pair of Bentley Continental GT3 machines as a proper warm-up ahead of a busy schedule in the Pirelli World Challenge championship, as the Chinese team substitutes Dyson Racing as the official Bentley team in America. One of the cars will feature both Adderly Fong and the American ace Andrew Palmer, who will be the drivers in their PWC effort, while the other car has still two drivers to confirm. With these additions, Audi factory driver Christopher Mies replaces Fong as one of the drivers of their Audi R8 LMS.

Outside these changes, there are no changes in the other teams, including the GT championship contenders Clearwater Racing and Nexus Infinity.

Worth notice is that the GT-Am class may finally have company to the at the moment lonely KCMG Porsche GT3 Cup car, as Team Starspeed Racing enters a Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo. In the drivers department, Akash Nandy replaces Martin Rump at KCMG, driving alongside team boss Paul Ip and Yuan Bo.

The green flag for the 3 Hours of Malaysia will be waved on January 24th and the full entry list can be seen here.