Trulli on the leave as Jaguar gets Formula E spot

The grid composed by ten teams at the announcement of the 2015/2016 FIA Formula E season will be reduced to nine as the Trulli Formula E Team confirmed that will leave the series after the unsuccessful tries to start the season. The leave opened a slot for a new team to enter, and in fact a respected manufacturer will take the place.

The whole reason for the Jarno Trulli-led team to leave the all-electric series is that technical difficulties haunted the team since the Beijing ePrix, in China, and continued to the second race of the season, the Putrajaya ePrix, in Malaysia. First of all, logistical issues regarding the powertrain components made Trulli to miss the technical checks required to take part in the Chinese race. After that, the Putrajaya race absence was due to failure to pass through the scrutineering process, even with a time extension being given by FIA.

In the middle of the turmoil, Mexican driver Salvador Duran parted ways with the team, and team owner Jarno Trulli was ready to race in his place, but the plan in fact never materialized.
The Formula E regulations grant the power to FIA to expel a team from the championship if the given team’s procedures aren’t in line with the organization expectations, in which Trulli’s problems exactly are fit.

But, the void left by Trulli will soon be filled, as Jaguar announced this Tuesday (15) that will become the tenth Formula E team in the 2016/2017 season, in what is the first official Jaguar motorsport effort since the early 2000s, when the Formula 1 team raced from 2000 to 2004, achieving two podiums and leaving to what’s currently the Red Bull Racing team.

The long-term agreement puts the British manufacturer in the championship with Williams Advanced Engineering as their technical partner with the announcement of a new electric car project in the near future.

PHOTOS: Trulli Formula E Team, FIA Formula E