Manufacturers already selected for Formula E’s next season

Formula E as a single manufacturer spec-car is about to become a thing of the past, as little by little the development of different technologies to the electric car formula will open in the coming years, starting in the 2015/2016 season of the series.

To push this development, as well to keep the show as good and close as possible, eight manufacturers were selected by FIA to take part in the next Formula E season, which will be able to initially develop their own solutions in the powertrain area, in order to avoid cost elevation.

Of these eight selected manufacturers, six are already part of the series: ABT Sportsline (Germany), Andretti (USA), Mahindra (India), Renault Sport (France), Venturi Automobiles (Monaco) and Virgin Racing Engineering (UK). The two newcomers in the series will be Motomatica and NEXTEV TCR.

The e-motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system will be on charge of the manufacturers, and the next step, intended for the 2016/2017 season is the implementation of bespoke batteries, with the goal to make the Formula E car last the whole race, instead of the two-car-per-driver solution used currently.

While everything is about to be settled for the next season, Formula E still has a championship underway, and they will race at Miami, USA, on March 14th.

PHOTO: FIA Formula E